top of page

If you want to build community...


You can do so digitally in any online space, either within a Learning Management System (LMS), via a free web page building tool such as Google Sites, or by using blog host that permits multiple users (Wordpress is one such example). If you prefer a low technology option, this community building activity can also be carried out on a classroom wall. If you have different student sections on rotary you can fill each wall space with a different section.

You may be wondering what prompts to use. I used a series of seven questions to prompt the learners within our new community to share something about themselves such that each other member could learn more about them (image, left with GDoc version at link). I also modeled sharing by creating my own page and answering some of the same question prompts. I did not answer them all, serving as an adult example of less-than-perfect but acceptable effort.

You may be wondering why I did this digitally. In addition to the ability to learn about my students any time and from any Wifi-enabled location, I now have sample writing by each student as a baseline of their writing capabilities outside of any course content prompt. I also have evidence of their organization, creativity, attention to detail, timeliness, and an ability to connect with them on a personal level. Their identities and preferences revealed within this first-week-of-school activity are easy talking points as I work to cultivate great relationships with each and every one of them!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page